St. Alban the Martyr

Organists at St Alban's

We are trying to compile a complete list of organists from the available records. The post has been variously designated as Choir Master & Organist; Organist; Organist & Master of the Choristers; and Director of Music; currently it is Organist and Choir Director.

At the first St Alban's Mission Church (1865-1871):

1868 Mr Price

At the Second St Alban's Church (1871-1881; St Columba's 1881-1910)

1876-1880 Samuel Royale Shore Hon. Organist (also Hon. Assistant 1881-1886)

1880-1881 W. Nicholson

At the Third St Alban's Church (1881-present)

1881-1882 Hugh Brooksbank, later Organist at Llandaff Cathedral

1882-1885 Douglas Redman 

1885-??? T. J. Woodall

1888 C. W. Perkins (also Town Hall organist)

1889–1899 Joseph Granville Smith

1899-1901 W. E. Abraham

1901-1910 William Terrence Jenkins

1910-1911 Alban W. Cooper

1911-1918 Thomas J. Richards

1919-1923 George Henry Manton

1923-1953 Ernest Edward Madeley

1954-1960 Roy Cyril Massey, later Organist at Birmingham and Hereford Cathedrals

1960-1961 David Britton

1961-1967 Raymond J. Isaacson, later organist at High Wycombe Parish Church

1968 Alistair Pow, later organist at Old St Paul’s, Edinburgh

1969-1970 John Bates, later Organ Scholar of ??

1970-1971 Paul Hale, later Organ Scholar of New College, Oxford, Assistant Organist of Rochester Cathedral, Rector Chori and Cathedral Organist at Southwell Minster

June 1971-1976 Roy Hayton

1977-1979 John Butt, later organ scholar of King’s College Cambridge

(1979-1982 C. J. Clifton as Director of Music with a separate Organist)

1979-1981 David Briggs, later organist at Hereford, Truro and Gloucester Cathedrals, currently Artist in Residence at the Cathedral of St John the Divine, New York

1981-1983 Iain Simcock, later Organ Scholar at St. George's Chapel, Windsor Castle and Christ Church, Oxford, then Sub-Organist at Westminster Abbey and, for seven years, Assistant Master of Music at Westminster Cathedral

1983-1991 Ian Ledsham

1992-1997 Colin Kinton

1998-2004 Darren C. Hogg

2004-2018 Chris Harker

2006-2011 David Lane (Director of Music based at St Agatha's Sparkbrook) Christopher Harker (Assistant Organist at St Alban's)

2011-2012 Thomas Keogh

2013-2019 Graeme Martin

2020-2021 Vacant (the Covid-19 pandemic delayed the appointment of a new organist)

2022-present Aled Liddington